Default Driving In The Snow

Hey Guys,

So I'm heading to Oregon soon and it's supposed to be snowing when we get there. I need some advice as to what I should bring with me. I'm in Southern California now and it doesn't snow much here (or at all), unless you go up to Big Bear or some nearby mountain. Should I purchase Snow Chains as a precaution?

I've driven in snow once when I got caught in a storm in Big Bear. It wasn't bad at all actually. The Volvo drove perfectly even with the All Weather tires that I have installed on it. The worst part about driving in the snow was the low visibility and the once patch of ice I hit coming down the mountain. Since we'll be staying in a cabin in Oregon and the Volvo will most likely be parked for a few days will it be necessary to have have chains in case it snows quite a bit?

I have zero experience with Snow Chains and this is my first AWD vehicle. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Good question and one I've been wondering too. As well as when one chains up an all wheel drive, which two wheels get the chains?

I read somewhere that if and when you chain your tires it should only be the front ones. I could be mistaken though. Hopefully someone with better knowledge of this chimes in.

If chains are required there will be signs posted. There are many on the market so you might do well to have & not need than the alternative. When installed they will give you a speed penalty but they do grip well.

shoot. I didn't keep it, there is a good thread here about it. Answer is in the owners manual no less!! lol Front wheels only. In most situations AWD won't need to cable up.

Read the owner's manual on what chains to fit, you'll need cable, or low profile chains because of tight clearances.

If you've got 4 winter tires, skip the chains, you'll not need them.

If you've got 4 all season tires, then chains can help in tough conditions and they'll set you back less than a hundred.