Default Is this an okay deal? Any problems I should look out for?

Hello all!

I'm in the market for an XC70 with about $3000 in my budget for it. I daily drive a Scion FR-S but I want something reliable and AWD for the winter for a reasonable price.

I'm a student and won't be driving the car too often on weekdays except to run some errands but will be driving it every weekend for sure.

I'm reading some problems about potential issues with the AWD system and some transmission issues and would like some advice what to look out for when I'm looking at the car.

The car I'm looking at is this one here:

http://philadelphia.craigslist.org/cto/4002350846.html

and everything seems okay to me, are there any XC70 specific questions I should ask the seller?

Sorry for the long post, I just want to make sure I'm not walking into a trap.

I'm looking forward to the forums advice! Thank you in advance.

TL;DR, is this car worth it?

Spend $100 and have it checked out by a Volvo dealership.

A wise friend once said to me - the most expensive car you'll ever own is a cheap one. If its cheap, there may be a reason for it. We all love Volvo's - but if you want something AWD and cheap, usually it's not a word synonymous with one another. Subaru also make good AWD vehicles and they last a long while but they're hard to find as people like to drive them til they die and they're not cheap either - even the older ones unless it's cheap for a reason.

Older Volvo's - like the one you're looking at - might need new suspension, Throttle body, ABS sensor, and a list of other common maintenance/wear-tear items that need replacement. Get it checked out thoroughly.

Do yourself a big favor and buy a Subaru.
    These early XC70's are nothing but trouble waiting to happen and very difficult to work on for a newly minted shade tree mechanic.
    My love and history of Volvo goes back a long way, two 544 models and one p1800, along with others rings the history bell.