Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    16

    Default MAF sensor cleaning

    Curious if anyone has had any luck cleaning the MAF sensor vs. just replacing it?

    I have a 2005 XC 70 that has developed an intermittent rough start when cold and it seems like the idle RPM is a on the low side. On occasion, it will start, then just die.
    I don't have any CEL to guide me, but I was thinking it's the MAF sensor.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks
    Pete

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    537

    Default

    Haven't had the issue myself but I've read that if you're having a rough idle, you can try unplugging the wire to the MAF sensor. If your idle improves, this could indicate your MAF needs to be cleaned or replaced. There are vids on Youtube showing how to clean your MAF.
    2007 XC70, 206,000 miles
    2002 V70XC, 130,000 miles, parts car

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Virginia Beach
    Posts
    3,956

    Default

    A new Bosch MAF will work and costs about $100. Other brands are a waste of money. Seriously. A big waste.

    MAF cleaning rarely works. You can try it, but donít expect much.

    YouTube videos are hardly good advice, Iíve seen lots of wild, false, claims, bad advice and misinformation.
    Current Fleet:
    2016 Tundra Crewmax 4WD 1794
    2005 MB S600 (100K, Michelin AS3+, M1 0W40)
    2002 V70-XC (258K, Castrol Edge 0W40)
    2002 V70-T5 (208K, IPD bars, Bilsteins)
    2001 V70-T5 (92K)
    1932 Packard Sedan (straight 8, dual sidemounts, original paint and interior, Shell Rotella 15W40)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Thank you all.

    If I unplug the MAF, will I need to use VIDA to reset any codes? I currently don't have access to the use of VIDA without paying an shop to do it for me.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    Aurora, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4

    Default

    You can reset the code with a generic OBDII scanner-- the local oil change place disconnected mine while checking the air filter, and I reset it with my ELM327 scanner. I do need to get VIDA-DICE...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Yes, I also need to get my hands on a VIDA-DICE set up, but that's a discussion for a different thread.

    Thank you all that have replied. I really appreciate the help keeping my Volvo running!!
    Pete

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •