Default Mo Powah Babeh (tuning)

I'm a broke student in need of a little more power. I've been looking at a couple of tunes as those will definitely give me the best price to performance.

Hilton has a stage 1 tune for $350, and adding the option to remove the torque limiter brings that to $450. However the fact that they don't give a power/torque boost estimate is a little sketch. Plus it appears i'll need Vida Dice, which is a little pricey.

I'm also looking at the Elevate tune which 41hp and 71ftlb of torque. It comes as a standalone unit which plugs into the OBDII, but also costs $740.

Have any of y'all done these tunes? Or do any of y'all use a better tuning brand?

With any tune, be certain that the rest of the fuel delivery, ignition and transmission are up to the increased power.

I would put in new plugs, check everything, change the oil, and the transmission fluid.

Then consider the tune. If you’re actually broke, then you can’t afford to have the tune blow up the engine because of a weak injector, or bad coil.

Then, honestly, having not used any of the above, I would consider the IPD tune. Pricey, but they do a great job with tunes. And with Volvos in general.
    Current Fleet:
    2016 Tundra Crewmax 4WD 1794
    2005 MB S600 (126K, Michelin AS4, HPL 0W40)
    2005 MB SL600 (55K Michelin AS4, Mobil 1 0W40)
    2004 V70R (143K, six speed M66, HPL 5W40)
    2004 XC90 (235K, HPL 0W30 Euro)
    2002 V70-XC (295K, HPL 0W30 Euro)
    2002 V70-T5 (225K, IPD bars, Bilsteins)
    2001 V70-T5 (125K, IPD downpipe, cat back and other mods)
    1932 Packard Sedan (straight 8, dual sidemounts, original paint and interior, Shell Rotella 15W40)

Quote Originally Posted by dontfeedthevolvo View Post
    I'm a broke student in need of a little more power.

Hilton has,

remove the torque limiter

it appears i'll need Vida Dice,

Have any of y'all done these tunes?