Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    86

    Default ETM fuse keeps blowing

    Any ideas as to why the ETM fuse keeps blowing?

    It blew twice within a few weeks of a timing belt job, then twice today. Now runs terribly after replacing it (and power brakes are gone, but that could be from loss of vacuum from sputtering engine).

    Got a "service engine system -urgent" message, but no code.

    Thanks!

    2001 v70xc
    205K miles

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    1,281

    Default

    Looks like fuse #7 in the b fusebox goes to the throttle module - you have a 2001 - how old is the throttle?

    If the fuse keeps blowing either the wiring to the throttle is damaged and grounding out sometimes or the throttle unit is bad.

    Xemodex may offer some diagnostic help here

    https://xemodex.com/us/knowledgebase...ic-flow-chart/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Thanks. That is a great resource.
    Gotta check again for codes later.

    Throttle body replaced some years ago under previous owner. Hopefully that didn't go bad on me.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Found a p1021 code, which points me to a bad ETM on the Xemodex flow chart.

    This might make sense since I was already having an occasional problem with the car bucking under hard acceleration. Been meaning to check/clean the ETM and the plugs as a result. I guess I will do that and inspect the wiring in case I can get lucky before spending the money to repair the ETM.

    Anything other suggestions?

    Thanks hoonk.

    gary

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,920

    Default

    Since its 01, probably eventually need to rebuild TPS on the ETM if close to 100k miles on it. Google "Sacer SA300 ETM". Can do this repair yourself for the cost of the part (~$100) However, since you are blowing fuses, maybe ETM electronics are bad, never heard of failing TPS can blow fuses.

    Used ETM will also work without any reprogramming (FirstVolvo got few used when he did his own TPS replacement and gave me the recipe) So you might just get a cheap used one from a junk yard and rebuild the TPS on that.
    Past Volvos : 01 V70 T5, 01/02 V70XC, 02 V70 NA, 00 V70XC
    Current EV/Hybrid : 13 Tesla S85, 11 Gen3 Prius
    Friends cars under my care 17 Audi A4 Quattro DSG (B9) 05 Audi A4 Manual 6sp Quattro (B7) 04 e320 V6 Auto, 05 Accord 2.4, 08 Element 2.4, 08 Camry Hybrid
    Past Others : 01/03 VW MK4 Turbo/NA/01M. Gen1 Prius, Gen1 CRV, Gen2 Rav4, 02 Town&Country, 06 Corolla, 12 Audi A4 Quattro (B8), 07 Civic 1.6
    http://www.freewebs.com/howardsvolvos/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Thanks Howard.
    I looked in the receipts folder and the ETM recall was done on this car 12 years and 130,000 miles ago. (205,000 miles now)

    I have a similar car that I was trying to decide if I should use for parts or sell for cheap as a local runner. If I take that ETM out, it will plug and play in this car without reprogramming?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,920

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gary g View Post
    If I take that ETM out, it will plug and play in this car without reprogramming?
    That was FirstVolvo's experience. He picked up a few from junkyard while experimenting with TPS replacement. You might PM him to get the stat.
    Past Volvos : 01 V70 T5, 01/02 V70XC, 02 V70 NA, 00 V70XC
    Current EV/Hybrid : 13 Tesla S85, 11 Gen3 Prius
    Friends cars under my care 17 Audi A4 Quattro DSG (B9) 05 Audi A4 Manual 6sp Quattro (B7) 04 e320 V6 Auto, 05 Accord 2.4, 08 Element 2.4, 08 Camry Hybrid
    Past Others : 01/03 VW MK4 Turbo/NA/01M. Gen1 Prius, Gen1 CRV, Gen2 Rav4, 02 Town&Country, 06 Corolla, 12 Audi A4 Quattro (B8), 07 Civic 1.6
    http://www.freewebs.com/howardsvolvos/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    1,281

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gary g View Post
    If I take that ETM out, it will plug and play in this car without reprogramming?
    Generally - No - but I never tried a used ETM (tried other used modules, that would not work)

    Again - Xemodex is a good resource for module information - they might be able to reprogram a used unit you have.

    If your similar running car would sell for more than $500, and you plan to drive the other one a while longer - I would take that $500 and put it toward an ETM (if it needs one) from Xemodex. (that will last a long time) -


    "He picked up a few from junkyard while experimenting with TPS replacement" Have you tried replacing one yet? I would not want to "try a few"

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •