Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Need some help with replacing rear Coil springs on 2007 XC70

Hi All,
    I'm new to the Volvo world but have some experience with changing Rear Springs in a Suzuki and Jeep.
    I have 2007 XC70 that was failed in a safety inspection due to broken rear spring.
    So I ordered from Volvo :
    For the left spring :
    https://www.volvooftorontoparts.ca/p...1/8646865.html
    For the Right spring:
    https://www.volvooftorontoparts.ca/p...3/9473371.html

I should get the parts any day.
    I have the spring shrink tool.

I never replaced a rear spring that has the shock absorber inside as the XC70 does. Wasn't able to find nothing with a video or photos that explain how to replace only the springs.

Can I just open the suspension form the lower side and the spring will drop out or I need to unmount the upper Spring/Shock mount too ?

Thank you,
    Kal

You need to take it out. The shock mount has 3 bolts: 2 underneath and 1 inside the trunk. It might be a good idea to replace shocks at the same time, Sachs are like $50-60/piece.

From the spring compression point of view, the rear shock assembly is like any McPherson strut.

Make sure you have marked the positions of spring, rubber inlay and shock mount relative to each other, otherwise you'll difficult time assembling it back.

You also will need to lower control arm. Use your standard jack (widow maker) or bottle jack between control arm and chassis.
    2002 V70 (sold)
    2005 XC70 (Telos Road took it. Did a chassis swap)
    2016 XC60 (sold, P.O.S.)

Quote Originally Posted by vtl View Post
    You need to take it out. The shock mount has 3 bolts: 2 underneath and 1 inside the trunk. It might be a good idea to replace shocks at the same time, Sachs are like $50-60/piece.

From the spring compression point of view, the rear shock assembly is like any McPherson strut.