Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default 1999 v70xc 2.4 turbo throwing unknown code

Hey there, new to the volvo world. I've got an interesting code P1332 that's being picked up by my code reader and I can't find what that code means. Any guidance is appreciated.

Also, I've got a P0302 code that's also being thrown, misfire on cylinder 2. I was told this one could be the VVT solenoid. Does that diagnosis hold any water? I don't want to do the shotgun repair and just throw parts at this thing and hope it fixes it.

If you guys need more info, just ping me and I'll get back to you asap.

Thanks in advance!

I have no experience with code P1332 but dealing with it is discussed at https://www.matthewsvolvosite.com/fo...ic.php?t=21162
    Bill
    63 PV544 (attempted restoration)
    83 245 DL OSD (transferred to son)
    85 240 GL OSD (transferred to son)
    03 XC70 OSD (traded-in 4/12)
    05 AWD S80 OSD (transferred to son)
    12 XC70 T6
    16 S60 T5 Drive-E (FWD)

Quote Originally Posted by Smelserm View Post
    I've got a P0302 code that's also being thrown, misfire on cylinder 2. I was told this one could be the VVT solenoid.
    A #2 missfire code would usually not come from a bad VVT solenoid. It would come from a missfire on #2 from a bad/worn spark plug, coil, compression or injector problem, maybe an intake air leak - listed in order of probability. Are the spark plugs new - are somewhat new? Then swap #2 coil (and plug) to another cylinder, erase code and see what comes back BEFORE you buy a new coil or framulator or muffler bearing and replace it randomly hoping to fix something.

You could have VVT solenoid problems, but the simplest is low oil level (=low pressure) causing cam timing codes. Solenoids do go bad, but if the cam timing is off a few degrees (due to a poor installation technique) that can set a code also. Or a clogged oil line/screen going to the solenoid.

VIDA can test the cam reset valve function - if that's available to you.