Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Haldex oil change - Issue to remove the rear prop shaft.

Hi all,

My car is an XC AWD 2006.
    I am new to this kind of project on my car, so bear with me.

I have been trying to remove the rear propeller shaft since this morning, but so far I was only able to remove the 6 allen bolts.

Since my car is on cribbing stands (14" space to work is very nice), I cannot rotate the propshaft, therefore I could only put one m8 bolt (20mm long) on the back of the flange as an attempt to push the propshaft out the flange.

The fact that I cannot rotate the propshaft seems to be a big issue, as I cannot put one or two more m8 bolts on the back of the flange to help pushing the thing out.

So my questions are:

1) In order to be able to rotate the propshaft with my hands, should the car have the 4 wheels freed up (which essentially means to put it on jack stands) ?
    2) If the answer to 1) is yes, do I have to put the gear in Neutral and try to rotate the propshaft with my hands? Or do I have to put the Neutral and rotate the wheels by hand to get the propshaft to rotate?

If the answer to 1) is no, please provide more details.

3) Anything else I need to remove in addition to the propshaft centre bearing?

Any advice is very welcome.

Thank you
    Alex
    My XC 70

Hi all,

OK, car is on the stands now, rotating one of the front wheels rotates the shaft, which is good.

What is not good is that I tried already 2 bolts on the back of the flange, no movement.
    I wonder, the bolts are 20mm long, once they are all in they should push the shaft out, why does it not move??

Can I use PB Blaster all around the cv joint to see if that helps?
    Also, on the back of the flange where the m8 20mm bolts screw in?

Do you think removing the central bearing holder and allowing the shaft to bend may help someway?

Thank you
    Alex
    My XC 70

Are you removing the shaft just to replace the AOC oil?