Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default 04 XC70 Propshaft Removal

Hi

Just joined the forum. I'm a retired engineer who has been doing all his own car work for 50 years, but I am struggling here.

I lost all wheel drive about a year and a half ago, and finally decide to do something about it. Its the dreaded AOC pump and DEM failure. I decided to try to remove the prop shaft, took out all the bolts from the flange, but it would not pop out of the damper. I even tried tapping around the protrusion with my baby sledge to no avail. Is there anything else holding it in, or is it just rust? The prop shaft looks a little flimsy, so I'm hesitant to remove the center bearing and levering the flange out, as it seems to suggest in vadis.

any help would be appreciated.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG1262.jpg 
Views:	76 
Size:	96.0 KB 
ID:	7558

6 hex bolt/3 washers are all there is. Looks like its rusted on pretty good since you are in salted road region. Might use some penetrating stuff. Here are pics from my prop shaft removal and CV joint replacement (2001 so viscous coupling rather than Haldex but I think prop shaft is pretty much similar design) to give you a good view on what the CV looks like.

Looks like quite a few people gets stuck where you are and end up separating parts of the CV. See post #5 here. cattlecar is a Volvo tech.

http://forums.swedespeed.com/showthr...eshaft-removal

Here is another one that use the engine power to break it loose.

http://forums.swedespeed.com/showthr...t-removal-help

The CVs will loosen but I think center bearing has to come off to shorten the overall shaft length for the CV's to clear the flange.
    Last edited by howardc64; 11-22-2015 at 12:46 PM.
    Past Volvos : 01 V70 T5, 01/02 V70XC, 02 V70 NA, 00 V70XC
    Current EV/Hybrid : 13 Tesla S85, 11 Gen3 Prius
    Friends cars under my care 17 Audi A4 Quattro DSG (B9) 05 Audi A4 Manual 6sp Quattro (B7) 04 e320 V6 Auto, 05 Accord 2.4, 08 Element 2.4, 08 Camry Hybrid