Default XC70 manual trans

I recently saw an 03' XC70 with a manual trans for sale in MD (its gone now) I cant find another for sale in the US, and from researching it i can see they weren't actually sold in the US with the manual trans. this must have been a canadian car, is it hard to get a car here from canada? what paperwork/ issues are there? or if I got a manual trans from a V70 in the US would that work for a swap? I'm new to volvos, as a subaru mechanic (subarus are like lego's, almost everything is interchangeable in all subaru models)I have converted auto to manual but i don't know if the XC is different to the V, I'm guessing its the same just lifted, like a legacy VS a legacy outback, just taller?

http://www.volvoxc.com/forums/showth...ghlight=manual

Others have tried a manual swap, there are a couple of links to those cases in this thread.

Probably a Euro car, I don't think you could get a P2 manual in Canada either
    It's VERY hard and problematic getting a tune that works Otherwise you're limited to 4000 RPM and you won't find a transmission here, you would need to go with a 6 speed and that has its own set of issues to install
    All emails please use: jrl1194 (at) aol.com

2007 V70 2.5T White/Oak, 112K miles. My daily driver and GORGEOUS
    2000 V70R wife's. Won't sell, now at 148K miles !! and still (almost) perfect.
    2000 S70 GLT SE with 29,000 miles!!! A time capsule, V70R front bumper, Volans, etc. SOLD!!! (I Will regret selling this!)

Quote Originally Posted by JRL View Post
    It's VERY hard and problematic getting a tune that works Otherwise you're limited to 4000 RPM and you won't find a transmission here, you would need to go with a 6 speed and that has its own set of issues to install
    thanks for the info. I'll keep it auto

Quote Originally Posted by JRL View Post