PDA

View Full Version : Interested buyer questions

Evolvo
01-20-2007, 09:14 PM
Hi all,
I am new to volvos and this forum.
I am seriously pursuing purchase of a used XC for my wife.
I have recently test driven an '00, '01, '02, '07.
I found no discernible differences between any of these except the '00's obvious body and tranny changes.
I absolutely love the styling, ride, safety and comfort afforded by these cars.
I have an oppurtunity to purchase either an '02 with 80K or an '03 with 125K in the same price range.
Questions are:
Do all '03's have the Haldex AWD??
How do I verify if it has Haldex???
Is the Haldex a valuable improvement???
Which would you choose ???

Jorge-789995
01-20-2007, 09:26 PM
Do all '03's have the Haldex AWD??
How do I verify if it has Haldex???
Is the Haldex a valuable improvement???
Which would you choose ???

Yes, to my knowledge, all 03's have haldex.

You will probably get the advice that the haldex is the greatest thing on the XC, and that the pre ‘03 viscous coupling AWD system is the worst. I have the VC AWD, and I don't see any problems with it. In my opinion, it is not prone to failure like so many haldex drivers say. Search this site, and you will come up with a lot of talk about the VC, but very few, if any, actual failures.
I’d choose the 2007, but if I had to choose between these 2, given the mileage differences, I'd go with the ‘02.
Good luck, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed with either.

JRL
01-20-2007, 10:04 PM
Yes, to my knowledge, all 03's have haldex.

You will probably get the advice that the haldex is the greatest thing on the XC, and that the pre ‘03 viscous coupling AWD system is the worst. I have the VC AWD, and I don't see any problems with it. In my opinion, it is not prone to failure like so many haldex drivers say. Search this site, and you will come up with a lot of talk about the VC, but very few, if any, actual failures.