PDA

View Full Version : First timer on Forum--Questions?

Greybeard
10-19-2006, 05:14 AM
This is my first time on this Forum and I am glad to have found you. I recently bought my first Volvo, a 2000 XC SE. I have been looking everywhere for a repair manual for the car. NAPA, Checkers, and on-line searches have produced no results. Where can I get a service manual?
Also, after I had the car for a month, I noticed a small amount of fluid on the garage floor, just drips. I thought maybe the oil plug wasn't tight or the oil filter, but it looks to be coming from above the front differential housing. Are there any lines up there that have a high probability of coming loose and leaking. I ride a Harley and Harleys are notorious for leaking rocker box gaskets. I was wondering if Vovlo has similiar problems.
Thanks in advance for any feedback.
Bill Fish aka The Greybeard

coolwhipdefuser
10-19-2006, 06:18 AM
Well, the front differential housing leaking could be an indication that you have something wrong with your VC joint, but I'm not completely positive about that. I'd check the forums for VC posts, and also just check back here periodically because I know someone will know what that is.

Welcome to the forums Greybeard!

rodrigo
10-20-2006, 06:07 PM
Well, I also have a little drip...one drop at a time, and it is from my drain plug. Its kinda irritating, and im going to try the following:
Drippy oil plug (http://www.volvospeed.com/oilplug.php)

Also, check these out:
Oil return line for Turbo (http://www.volvospeed.com/Repair/awd_oil_return.php)

oil return line (http://www.volvospeed.com/Repair/turborepairline.php)

Post your findings :)

Greybeard
10-21-2006, 07:30 PM
Thanks for the ideas. The Turbo oil return line leak sounds like what is going on with my car. The oil is leaking down in the same way described.
I will check it out tomorrow.
Greybeard
2000 V70XC-SE

Ken from RI
10-22-2006, 05:07 PM
Greybeard.
Welcome use this site your advantage. Agian welcome.