PDA

View Full Version : Excessive tyre wear!

sendwongy1
04-20-2003, 08:31 AM
Hey Guys,

I have noticed recently that my front left tyre has been wearing quite quickly. However, when I washed my car today I was surprised that the same front left tyre has worn to the 20% mark. Now according to some of the posts on this forum I believe that a unever tyre wear can cause problems with the AWD system. My car is due for it 30,000 service in about 2-3 weeks. Will it matter it I leave the matter for a few weeks or should I seek advice from the dealer straight away. I have had two rotations and alignments done on the car already and the car seems to be pulling left but the tyre people still have not been able to fix this as they said there was something that cannot be adjusted with the alignment. Do any of you have any suggestions on my problem? Are any of you experiencing any problems with tyre wear?

regards

Eugene

barrysharp
04-20-2003, 10:17 AM
Eugene:

I have no experience with XC70 tire wear issues like you have described -- my XC70 arrives May.

A "a stitch in time saves nine" is what comes to my mind. If you haven't already contacted your Volvo tech shop then I would do so as I can't see that it would be a waste of time. If necessary bring your 30K service appointement forward as 2-3 weeks is insignificant.

What is it that the tire people say can't be adjusted ? This sounds strange to me.

If this problem bothers you then seek expert advice from the Volvo techies.

If front left tire is wearing substantially faster than the other three then there's certainly something wrong and it should be corrected -- and maybe can be done under warranty as you've less than 50K miles and probably have owned car less than 4 years.

Is the left front brake caliper's pad dragging on the rotor maybe ? Jack car up at left front and make sure wheel can rotate freely without any real resistance.

Willy
04-21-2003, 03:26 AM
Hello Eugene,