PDA

View Full Version : purchasing a T6

keith718
05-30-2006, 01:11 PM
Im getting ready to purchase a T6. I would like to know if there are performance upgrades to the T6 engine(that won't be a mechanical or technical problem down the road). Are there larger intercoolers available for the turbos? Also does the 68 extra horsepower make a difference as opposed to the T5?

Thanks
Keith :)

Mr. LP
05-30-2006, 07:05 PM
i hear the ECU upgrade is pretty huge. I did a K&N which is really simple and pretty cheap. It is minimal (8-10 hp) but a little is better than none at all. I know some people in this forum do not like the K&N idea, search and read the discussion.

Let us know what you do and how you like it.

LP

Raynald
05-30-2006, 08:32 PM
Take a look at BSR PPC Tuning (http://www.bsrab.se/products/n312/t/). I've done it on my V70XC and works fine for me. I'm not an expert nor a pro, but it makes a noticeable difference, more in the 80-120 km/h range.

Big
05-30-2006, 10:38 PM
I would like to know if there are performance upgrades to the T6 engine(that won't be a mechanical or technical problem down the road). Are there larger intercoolers available for the turbos? Also does the 68 extra horsepower make a difference as opposed to the T5? The transmission on the T6 is a weak link which prevents performance upgrades from having much benefit. A 2.5T (the T5 is a different engine not available on the XC90) with ECU upgrade actually has slightly better acceleration because the transmission is not hobbled. Add exhaust mods for extra punch although the cost is so high you might think of getting a V8 instead.

keith718
05-31-2006, 08:34 AM