PDA

View Full Version : 14,000 miles..brakes again!!$#$

oldbones
01-30-2006, 02:31 PM
i am having a difficult time understanding why i needed to purchase front brakes at 7,500 miles on myxc90 2004...and then again at 14,000 miles...front and rear brakes!!! is anyone else experiencing this? is my car defective? or are the brakes just garbage? :mad:

pls i need some advice here.

Tyrant11429
01-31-2006, 02:30 AM
Sorry to hear about that, maybe it just the brakes. How do you brake ????

oldbones
01-31-2006, 11:05 AM
i brake like any other driver...nothing special about the way i brake. i am a very conservative driver. no fast driving and stopping short. i drive daily but short local trips. i purchased my 2004 xc90 in late 2003 and today i only have 14,000 miles on the car...i have had other cars and this has never happened!! i think this must be a flaw in design. the xc90 is a very heavy suv and i am not sure that they considered this when they designed the brakes!!

Blue Magic Bus
01-31-2006, 01:27 PM
Wow.. two sets of brakes already with only 14,000 miles? I was going to ask if you ride the brake pedal which would give some premature wear, but that would happen with any vehicle you drive.

To your comment about the brakes being not sized for the weight of the vehicle, I really don't believe that's the case. Having worked for a Swedish-based company for years (ABB) I recall they had a tendancy to overengineer things, and with Volvo's safety record, having good brakes would be high on their priority list.

We just got our first Volvo ('05 XC90) last month and had it in the shop for it's first 7500 mile interval maintenance. Brakes were just fine all the way around. On our previous SUV, a '99 Explorer, the brakes were good for 40-50K miles in the front and more than that in the rear. I would expect no less from the XC90.