PDA

View Full Version : Clicking = Worn Sway Bar Link?

Old Racer
10-30-2005, 07:10 PM
My 2004 XC 70 was an ex-lease vehicle which I bought with 25K miles on it, and I have put another 5K trouble free miles.

There is a growing click in the front end when I change direction, especially if a bump is involved. I spoke to the dealer and the Service Manager who says that often the sway bars wear prematurely if the car was used on bumpy roads.

Does this make sense to anyone? Have I bought myself a future problem??
TIA
Harry

Jack
10-30-2005, 07:29 PM
I'm no expert but since you are so early in the warranty you should just let the dealer diagnose and fix the problem. As I understand the sway bar links are a weak spot but relatively inexpensive and easy to replace yourself. Compared to other cars in its class (I hope) these late model XC70's will be reasonably reliable.

Art
10-30-2005, 07:52 PM
This is an issue that isn’t foreign to many forum members here. I’ve had three of my links replaced on warranty.

As Jack stated it’s fairly easy to replace the front stabilizer links, outside of the warranty, without the aid of any specialized tools. Instructions can be found here. (http://www.volvoxc.com/resources/how-to/pdf/xc_front_stabilizer_service.pdf)

Puff The Magic Wagon!
10-31-2005, 01:56 PM
This is a bit of a bugger isn't it?

I spoke to the dealer and the Service Manager who says that often the sway bars wear prematurely if the car was used on bumpy roads.

Is this model not meant to be the Cross Country version of the V70? Surely one would expect that "bumpy roads" actually might be a daily part of the XC's journey? Therefore supply something that is up to the job :rolleyes:

Only annoyed as had my sway bars replaced under warranty some 5K ago & already they have started to click again :rolleyes: :( I live down bumpy roads...