PDA

View Full Version : is oil drain plug gasket a must?

perflex
07-30-2005, 06:55 AM
Dear all

I am a newbie in this forum

Is it a must to use a oil drain plug gasket?
Today I change motor oil and seal the drain plug without gasket
Could it result in leakge or other complication :confused:

thanks in advance
perflex

BillAileo
07-30-2005, 08:14 AM
The gasket puts a material softer than the oil pan between the drain plug and the pan which can be compressed enough to provide a good seal without threat of stripping the threads. It is certainly possible to get a seal without the gasket but I would not recommend doing it other than on an emegency basis.

Bill

gibbons
07-30-2005, 09:47 AM
If you are worried about dripping, but don't want to remove the plug (which will dump all the oil) to put a washer on it (or gasket, as you call it), try this trick. Crack the drain plug loose, and spin it out a few threads. Very little oil will seep out. Then wrap about 10" of teflon take around the threads between the plug head and the pan. Pull it tight as you wrap. Now, crank the plug back in. The excess teflon tape will squeeze out the gap, and it will be sealed better than the aluminum washer would have.

Although I always have a new washer handy for my Chevelle and truck, I add teflon tape too just to be sure there are no leaks because those oil pans are stamped sheet metal and just not very dimensionally precise. The XC's is a very nicely machined aluminum casting.

Willy
07-30-2005, 10:17 AM
Hi,
Although the risk of a leak is indeed not all that big, I wouldn't leave it like this. A washer or gasket also has a function of retaining the tension on the plug (acting as a spring) to prevent it from coming loose (the same reason that washers are used in most bolt/nut connections).