PDA

View Full Version : XC dreams fading.....

Timbob
11-18-2004, 07:23 PM
The car I won the bidding war on is fading away. The seller is not responding to my emails and I fear he has sold to some underhanded email bidder or local! Ebay sucks!
Over, Tim

cetaft
11-18-2004, 07:38 PM
You can use a feature on ebay to get his name and phone number... it's "locate member" or something on the site map.

BTW, what is his feedback? Any history of this before? Possibly - just possibly - his mail tosser's down... give it another try and/or call before writing it off.

Raynald
11-18-2004, 07:39 PM
I've heard things about Ebay (or for that matter about other auctions as well) that some sellers were selling things to themselves under false names, auto-congratulating on their selling/buying performance just to increase their rating and thus achieving high scores for customer satisfaction and winning "best seller" awards. :eek:

Urban legend... Who knows, I'm not an expert! :rolleyes:

To bad...

gibbons
11-18-2004, 08:05 PM
Man, don't do bidding wars! There is a proxy bid site called esnipe.com. To use it, you enter the auction number for the item you want to bid on. Then, in a rational state of mind, you enter what the maximum amount you will pay is. Then, 7 seconds before the auction ends, esnipe submits the sneaky bid for you. Then, you either win, or get out bid. But you didn't get crazy at the last minute and bid a silly amount, or prematurely signal your intentions which triggers bidding wars.

I use esnipe exclusively for bidding. The utility has never failed to do it's job for me. I win most of the time. When I don't, it's cuz the item ran up higher that I would have gone anyway. And since bidding is automatic, you don't have to be around to submit a bid right before the auction close.

This is actually a better tip than the tip about Duckey spot remover :D

coastal
11-18-2004, 09:58 PM
welcome to the site timbob, nice to have you aboard :)