PDA

View Full Version : XC Shopping Advice

Wessonality
01-27-2002, 12:50 PM
Hi! I am a Volvo V70XC wanna'be owner and new to this awesome site and forum. I am thinking about trading in my 99 Honda Accord for a Volvo. I am a US contractor living overseas in Germany and have a unique opportunity where I can buy a Volvo tax-free and at a below invoice price.

My criteria for a new U.S. Spec car is one which has to be (of-course) available to me overseas, can seat 7 passengers (mix adults and kids), drive comfortable at 110+ MPH on the Autobahn (suspension/power/low susceptibility to cross wind), great warranty, and Full-Time AWD for the snow. My Honda does a great job on the Autobahn and physically is about the same size - unfortunately between the toddler and guests it is tight to go on trips with. Our other vehicle is a 97 Jeep Cherokee that is small for more than just us - but is great for trips around town. Although it can easily hit 90+MPH - it has a bouncy suspension and like most SUVs you know when there is a cross wind – overall not good for cruising on long trips.

My expectations out of a Volvo V70XC is that I get the AWD of an SUV - no low gear required, the suspension and speed of a car, less bounce than a Jeep, and it has 7 passenger seating and is NOT a minivan. Also, it is sized for the European market where larger vehicles and SUVs have a hard time in parking garages.

Since I have an opportunity to custom build my Volvo, here is what I am thinking about getting so far – keeping in mind that I can pick and choose my options outside of the packages:

Volvo V70 XC
Metallic Paint – color TBD
Premium Pkg (Leather, Sunroof, CD, Power Seats)
Versatility Pkg (3rd Seat, Waste Basket, Child Seat)
Cold Weather (Headlamp Wipers, Heated Seats)
Air Quality System
Auto Dim Mirror
Laminated Security Glass
Upgrade to 4 Disc CD Changer and 200W
First Aid Kit

Besides the above, here are some questions I have: