PDA

View Full Version : Osd pricing, costs, etc.

tkirwan
02-10-2003, 09:30 AM
I'm a newbie to OSD. I've looked at the glossy material on the Volvo web site, but haven't asked the dealer any questions.

What are the general savings of using the OSD program? Is there any minimum travel time required when going to pick up the car?

We bought a 02 V70XC from the local dealer this past fall, but we'll probably be in the marked for another car in about two years, and I'm considering OSD for that one.

I've read through the forum, and there's a great bunch of info, but I'm still wondering about the two questions above. Thanks for any responses!

Low Tide
02-10-2003, 09:40 AM
Answers as of 2003:

1) Generally, it is about 7-9% off US retail pricing. From time to time there is additional promotional savings that increase the value of the OSD program. This past quarter, some total savings approached $7500-8000 per vehicle, making the total discount closer to 20%.

2) No, there is no minimum travel required. In the past, there were times when no pickup at the FDC was required, but this has changed. Some members go for a month, others just get off the plane, take the limo to the FDC, drive around the track and get on the plane home. Again, some times (usually winter) Volvo offers longer trip packages at no cost- or a upgraded travel incentive at a subsidized cost.

02-10-2003, 10:17 AM
You can maximize your savings by doing the following

1) Fly to FDC and return immediately after having your car delivered to you. This should be zero cost to you as the SAS flight over/back is free and Volvo pays for one night in Goteborg hotel.

2) Have your sales person keep an eye open for OSD specials such as lower special car lot sales and free optional packages. For example during Nov/Dec 2002 OSD was giving the Premium package free -- a USD $2,600(approx) value!

3) Be ready/flexible to seize the opportunity when it arrives