PDA

View Full Version : Oil Filter - Where is it?

gregj
05-27-2002, 09:14 AM
Okay, can someone point me to the oil filter!  I am a moderate level mechanic, limit myself to oil changes, tuneups, tire rotations.  Over the weekend I decided to change the oil on the XC, 3000 mi.  For the life of me I could not find the canister from the top of the engine compartment.  I did not however raise the car and remove the protective shrouding under the engine.  

I have a pump to draw the oil from the dipstick slot and figuring the cartridge oil filter would be easily accessible from the top, as it is in my 535, I could do the change in 15 minutes.  Is this truly a simple oil change job or something I have to refer to the dealer?  I hate to pay $50+ for an oil change too, but I have my limits, time is money!

Thanks for you help,
Greg.

coastal
05-27-2002, 10:57 AM
Flip the car upside down and take a look on the passenger side just behind the bumper.

Car's out on the town right now so I can't be 100% certain, but the circled item looks to be what you're looking for. http://xc70.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif

gregj
05-27-2002, 11:18 AM
Thanks Coastal!  I'll take a look when I get home.

mox575
05-28-2002, 06:57 PM
Hi! Greg
You may have already checked things out but, I changed my oil today on my 2001.
Couldn't have been much easier. Removed the plastic protective cover. Unscrewed the plastic filter housing. Removed the filter element(INSERT) and O-Ring. Installed new. Oil pan plug faces the rear of the wagon and is easily accessible.
Filter is located as shown in previous photo(in front on the passenger side). I paid 6.99 USD for the insert and o-ring. I saw it listed at IPD for 5.99USD, but, there's shipping to consider. Most places that I checked, did not stock the filter, it was a special order item.
Hope this helps.

Take care

Lance

gregj
05-29-2002, 09:59 AM
Hi Lance,