PDA

View Full Version : XC70 will hardly move when cold, wont move after 1 minute. Rookie here HELP PLEASE!

volvoxcrowley
11-28-2016, 09:01 AM
Hi All

I am a newbie to Volvo. I recently purchased an XC70 for my wife. I knew about the trans issues but this one felt ok. I guess I decided to 'jump in' anyways. 2 months later, boom. It happened. My pregnant wife was driving back from work in Boston and the transmission stopped working. As if it was in neutral. All gears. Didnt matter if auto or gear selector. And this happened right in the middle of busy hour in a busy 2 lane route. Needless to say, I had to get it towed...and yes, the cop also gave her a ticket.

In any case, here are the events:

She was driving from work when the "Service Due" light came on. The day before she said the trans was shifting 'funny' as in long shift times.

When coming from work, the trans suddenly stopped working. As if someone disconnected the gear shifter. Nothing. Nada.

The car gets towed to my house. I am a BMW tech and have some technical knowledge.

The next day, I get in it to put it in my garage. I did not warm it up. I started the wagon, shifted to D and it moved into the garage. I let it run for a bit.

Then 10 mins later, I tried shifting and the trans is now gone. No movement. I still cycled through the gears anyways to check the level (even though that may not be doing anything with the gears)

I checked the level and it is about 2 inches PAST the hot.

Now, I don't know if that is because the gears are not being engaged and the fluid never got any temp, or if it is in reality overfilled.

I tried 2 hrs later. Turned on the car, shift to D and moves. After it 'warms' up for a little, trans is gone again.

Any ideas? Trans gone? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Thank you all

Astro14
11-28-2016, 09:58 AM