PDA

View Full Version : 2006 XC70 - looking to purchase

heneseyb
02-25-2015, 09:32 AM
Dealer has a 2006 XC70 70k on it. What should I look for when I visit them? What issues does this model year have? My mother has a 2002 XC70, love it. Looking to get one of my own for driving up skiing and just putzing around town. Appreciate your help! :)

cwise73
02-25-2015, 10:31 AM
Service history is pretty important to see. Are you buying it from a Volvo Dealer? If so are you getting a warranty? 2006 are considered to be a pretty good year.

brenglxc70
02-25-2015, 12:51 PM
I'm a Volvo newbie, but one thing I learned in my recent search for an XC70 was that almost none of the used cars out there have the timing belt service done, not if they are under 120k miles or so. People have a habit of trading these cars in right before they are due. Unless there is definitive proof that it was done, go ahead and plan on the expense for getting that done in the not-so-distant future.

The other things I found out about during my buying experience:
1) Strut tower mounts (if you look close from the top you can see if the rubber is torn/cracked bad)
2) front lower control arm bushings (if they are bad you can tell by driving it, but if there are no symptoms a visual inspection can tell what condition they are in)
3) Check the tire wear on the front, are they evenly worn? uneven wearing could be a sign of something going on with suspension or alignment.
4) interior condition was a biggie for me, I believe you can tell alot about how a car has been maintained based on how they treat the inside of it. If it's trashed then that is a red flag to me. People that bought these as a kiddie hauler and trashed the interior probably also did not have time or energy to maintain it properly. I am sure there are exceptions, but that is just my observation.