PDA

View Full Version : Sway bar bolts stuck! (IPD)

Jorge-789995
11-05-2014, 10:06 PM
Greetings,

I have another unique issue with the car. I never seem to come across the easy ones. I am attempting to replace the rear sway bar bushings on my IPD sway bar. The bar was installed maybe 6-7 years ago. I successfully replaced the fronts bushings, but the rears have turned into a nightmare.

See attached photos. The aluminum subframe has 2 protrusions that hold the sway bar. There is a hole in these that a bolt goes through to secure the bushings. The hole is NOT threaded. Both my bolts are stuck - probably corroded in place and will not budge. I think this is called galvanic corrosion and is due to the steel bolt in close proximity to the aluminum subframe in the presence of an electrolyte like road salt. I'm no expert, but that is my take on the cause. I assume that the IPD bolts were not coated/plated to the same standard as the original Volvo bolts and now I have this problem. I am probably not the only one, but it's possible others have not tried to replace the bushings yet.

Does anyone have a suggestion on how to proceed? I have tried PB Blaster, heat - Map gas torch, and now a ball joint press. As you can see, the hear of the bolt is now gone. I broke a socket on one of these early on. Nothing seems to more it and it just laughs at me. Next step is to get a thicker piece of metal and try the ball joint press again.

At what point to I start to damage the aluminum with the press? You can see I started the bend the steel bar used to push on the bolt.

I may have to start drilling them out, but until then, I would like to remove them.

As a worst case scenario, does anyone have directions on how to drop the rear subframe? I'm mainly interested in how to deal with all the fuel related items above the subframe.

thanks,

Keith

billr99
11-06-2014, 04:55 AM