PDA

View Full Version : Best repair/service manual

northorn
12-23-2013, 10:55 AM
What's the consensus about the best repair/service manual for my 2003 XC? Does the Haynes V70 cover the XC? Has anyone had experience with Chilton's online subscription service? What is VADIS? My apologies if this is all in FAQ somewhere; I'm new to the Volvo world.

guyeye
12-24-2013, 08:26 AM
Vadis is the electronic service manual that installs on your Windows XP or Windows 7 laptop (or Mac with a windows partition), and interfaces with the Volvo specific "Dice" (or Chinese Dice clone) OBD2 interface. Vadis is actually the old version. The new version of the software is called "Vida". You will often hear Vida-Dice together as the Vida software and Dice interface unit work together to diagnose, troubleshoot, reset and run tests on various system on your vehicle, as well as giving step by step instructions (with photos & diagrams) for repair procedures. Vida can be used independently as an electronic shop manual. Many people still use the old term "Vadis", but "Vida" is what you want. It's what they use at dealerships and Volvo Indy shops as shop manuals. The Chilton/Haynes manuals (if you can find them) are not very comprehensive.