PDA

View Full Version : Off roading XC-70

Joe1542
02-23-2013, 08:44 AM
Anyone have much experience with off-roading or fire roading their XC-70?

JRL
02-23-2013, 09:00 AM
Be careful, there are not really off road vehicles except for the occasional dirt road

01V70XC5A
02-23-2013, 09:17 AM
I have done quite a lot with mine. With some larger tires these things are pretty awesome up to a level 3 or so trail. Beyond that you will need a lift, a transmission swap (at minimum a fan-fed cooler for the AT) and undercarriage armor. As JRL said, care should be taken when driving off-road. I have a lot of experience off-roading and in the right hands these XCs are as capable as a standard Grand Cherokee(circa 2004). When the trails are tough, I take my lifted Sidekick Sport. If you are really concerned about serious off-roading, I would recommend a 99+ V-6 Grand Vitara. Quality lift kits and 4WD hardware are inexpensive and easy to find, and the vehicles are extremely reliable.

StuntmanMike
02-23-2013, 03:38 PM
That's not true. I can tell you from experience as a former Grand Cherokee owner that a GC can go places these XC's couldn't dream of going. Between the extra clearance and suspension articulation, not to mention low range gearing, the Grand is far superior offroad. A XC is fine for dirt roads, but can't handle rocky trails like a proper 4x4 can.

01V70XC5A
02-23-2013, 05:51 PM