PDA

View Full Version : ML320 vs. XC70

RHagan
01-14-2013, 07:20 AM
Hi guys(or gals),

I would really like some replies from mechanics who work on both. I am trying to decide on another ML320 or XC70. My price range is $5k or less. I am not looking for answers about power/or mpg - just purely reliability - what things will keep my car undriveable and my head under the hood working on it. I am a mechanic, and do my own work for EVERYTHING transmissions to diagnostics. If I cant scan it, I buy the factory scan tool to get the job done. I typically will buy cars with mechanical problems, fix and drive.

I have never owned a volvo or worked on them, so I don't know the expensive things that plague them. What is going to be the most expensive or problematic thing that will consume my time with the XC70? For example: The ML's achilles heel that I have found on them is two-fold: 1. transmission's around 180-200K (easy fix, just rebuild them $600 in parts, and easy too, just something that consumes some time) and 2. MB's passlock or immoblizer system will only let you re-issue 8 keys, then you have to buy another ECU.

I realize what a loaded ques. I ask, I just don't have months of time to research volvos to see if I want to live with the demon I know (MB) vs. the XC's and learning them.
Thanks ahead for any info!

dcninja123
01-14-2013, 11:13 AM
if you have 5k you'll get a lot more volvo for that than you will mercedes.

JRL
01-14-2013, 11:15 AM
You're info on the trannies is all wrong and any ML350 for 5K will probably be a royal POS
1997-2001s were AWFUL cars, (not much better until 2005 or so)

acools
01-14-2013, 12:00 PM
So I have worked on the XC70's for the last 5 years, and occasionally on a brother's ML500.

2001 XC70's have a poorly designed valve body, and I believe also the clutch pack.
I would avoid these like the plague.

Otherwise, the classic weakpoints are: