PDA

View Full Version : Center grab bar hot enough to burn!

zachmac
07-04-2012, 04:02 PM
I am a newbie to this forum and apologize if this has been covered but I didn't find it in the stickies? Lots of talk about the center console silver grab handle chipping BUT my problem is that after sitting in the sun in SC the thing is hot enough to burn a passengers arm! This has to be a problem others have had, no? Is there a non-metal replacement or some sort of cover option? This is a really poor design for warm climates!

MacNoob
07-04-2012, 04:41 PM
Yep, it gets very hot in the summer. And, you can get frostbite if you grab it in the winter. It is just for decoration, even though it's mounted so securely you could probably lift the car with it. Any upholstery shop could sew a nice leather cover for it though...

billr99
07-04-2012, 05:03 PM
Many years ago I was working in Columbia, SC when the temperature was above 100F for two weeks straight. I worked downtown and parked my Volvo 245 on the roof of a parking garage in the direct sunlight. When I got in after work, I couldn't touch anything that was in direct contact with sunlight. In fact, most every one who parked up there just opened up their car doors and let things air out for 15 or so minutes or until the interiors were cool enough to get in and start the car. Just one of the hazards of living where it gets gawd-awful hot every once in a while and it really isn't anything new.