PDA

View Full Version : Xc70 vs. pacifica

tooberand
06-23-2003, 11:18 AM
I test drove a Chrysler Pacifica this weekend. Once you get over the hurdle that this car is a "Chrysler", it's actually a very nice vehicle. It appears to be a cross between the XC70 and XC90 with its station wagon look and third-row seating (with side curtain for all three rows). I also found the interior room much nicer than the XC70. Being 6' 6" thats always a plus. My biggest (and really only) complaint is that they matched the engine with a 4 speed automatic transmission. Even though its 250hp with the auto-shift feature, it still left me wanting compared to what I've seen out of the XC70's (I attribute part of that to living at 5000 ft.).

Has anyone done some head to head comparisons of these two vehicles? I'd love to hear from anyone who has.

Thanks.

Toots!
06-23-2003, 10:32 PM
Tooberand:
The Pacifica looks good from the outside, but while I've no experience with the Pacifica it was the ownership of two Chrysler minivans which drove me completely away from North American vehicles. Those vans were beautifully designed for handling people and stuff, providing a comfortable ride, and having a finish that stood up very well over many years; however, the bills for mechanical repairs (air conditioners and trannies on both +++) plus the attitude of the service departments just got to be too much to take.

I've moved on to a 2003 XC (which I love) and am hoping for much greater satisfaction overall!
Toots

Hiro's XC
06-24-2003, 06:40 AM