PDA

View Full Version : XC70: Questions from newbie

prisoner
11-14-2011, 07:16 PM
I am a newbie for sure. I have some questions/concerns (statements) that are on my mind while researching the brand and models.

1. How real a concern is reliability? I have been used to a Toyota for the last 7 years that has required brake pads, oil changes and a battery within 80K. The car is vanilla as can be and I don't like the ride, but it has been reliable. I can stomach some repairs. I do not, however, want to deal with undiagnosable electric issues, transmissions failing below 100K, or major engine work under 125K. It seems like the XC70 and XC60 (both on my list) range from average to slightly above average in reliability. Perhaps I'm still nervous from an old Saab that I owned.

2. How straightforward and comprehensive can I expect that Safe and Secure Coverage Plan to be for me?

3. My wife will leave car purchasing up to me. I'm looking at the XC70 and XC60. I prefer the XC70. I think she would prefer the XC60. I don't care about SUV styling or features and think I might get more with the XC70. Also, I think the XC70 is for all intents and purposes an SUV anyway. I'm 37 years old. Should I not be buying a wagon? Left to my own choices I'd get the 70. Feedback here please.

4. We are expecting a baby in February (our first). I'm driving a 7 year old Toyota Corolla (which I'll keep until it dies). I'm attracted to Volvo's safety features and record, not to mention how substantial the vehicles are. I expect to keep this potential purchase for a long time, if not until the car is ready for the yard.

Any and all thoughts will be welcome and appreciated! Thanks to everyone in advance. And, please do give me your thoughts, share your knowledge, and opinions.

Xilikon
11-15-2011, 05:05 AM