PDA

View Full Version : 2001 XC70 transmission installation

lorenorder
10-14-2011, 04:43 AM
Does anyone have any advice on the transmission installation process ?

Can it be done by anyone other than a volvo mechanic ?

I am considering doing it myself , at my shop (woodwrking/metalworking)

while I am not an auto mechanic I am working with my hands and problem solving all day every day . and my tool selection is pretty good.

I am unfortunately very low on funds(just spent 2000.00 on front end parts, tires , battery , wheel bearing, exhaust stuff.....)

Thanks in advance for any thoughts and considerations.

ps. any advice on the best source for a used (with warrenty) trannsmission or remanufactured , or or or

Thanks , Loren

n00bkiller944
10-14-2011, 08:48 PM
It would be tough, but not impossible. I have never seen a write up online but I am sure there is one. I did a transmission on my S70 which wasn't too bad, but now you have to deal with all of the AWD stuff too... I would love to see you do this and post a lot of pics!

The biggest issue I see is finding a solid transmission. Any used trans you buy is going to be plagued with all of the same issues and weak points your had. You might want to search online and get one off the internet with a warranty and be prepared to do it again if it fails prematurely.

Astro14
10-15-2011, 06:14 AM
Service manuals on this are in short supply...the Hanes doesn't cover a complete swap...presumably because it's beyond DIY (I disagree on this point...)

I would get a one month subscription to one of the service manual providers, e.g. All Data, and read through it. At the very least, you need an engine brace and transmission jack and room to work. I assume you've got a good set of tools (you've said so...) and have at least done a RWD transmission...you may discover during the read through that some of the steps in this are beyond what you are able to accomplish given your circumstances...

Seamus
10-15-2011, 08:27 AM