PDA

View Full Version : strong smell of gas????

GReeves
10-10-2011, 02:34 PM
Hi there, Im new to the volvo XC, my wife has been nagging me for a bit so have got her a 2002 V70XC with 82,000 miles on the clock. Its a great car but it smells of gas when we stop the car. There is no obvious leaks, I park on a private drive. Is this normal or should i be worried? Thanks

Xilikon
10-10-2011, 03:00 PM
A strong fuel smell always mean there is a fuel leak somewhere. Do you see any fuel puddle under the car ?

I experienced the same issue when I bought my 2000 V70 XC Se and in the end, it was a bad fuel pump assembly (crappy Scan-Tech aftermarket). After replacing the pump with a OEM, the leak stopped. The smell was so strong that it gave me headaches unless I don't fill more than half.

Ocean Racer
10-10-2011, 07:05 PM
Someone has opened the fuel tank under your rear seats.
If the tank has been opened to replace the senders etc, you need to replace the large 8"? rubber o-ring.
No other way around it :(

Astro14
10-10-2011, 08:27 PM
NOT Normal...should be worried...but, there is hope.

There was a recall on some of these for a faulty fuel pump. One of the symptoms was a strong fuel smell by the rear passenger side door.

Have the dealer check your VIN for the recall....if applicable, replacing the pump is free under the recall.

Both my Volvos had the same symptom...and were fixed by Volvo gratis...

Ocean Racer
10-10-2011, 11:00 PM
Just dont light a cigarette !

GReeves
10-11-2011, 07:47 AM
Just called our not so local and freindly volvo dealer and he reluctantly said that there wasa recall on it for life. So a big thank you, does any body else know of any recalls for a 2002 V70XC?

backinblackXC
10-11-2011, 08:14 AM
Input your vehicle info here. Should give you all the recall info and service codes.

http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/recalls/recallsearch.cfm

Ocean Racer
10-11-2011, 08:41 AM