PDA

View Full Version : HELP! i need my car back!

volvomama27
06-27-2011, 12:22 PM
A few months ago I was coming home, and on a steep grade my car started making a weird hissing noise..followed by a grinding noise..I lost a little power..its been parked since, I had a friend run the computer on it..it said there's a problem with the turbo system :(...its not leaking any oil...it is running a little rich :(...my abs modular was going out...light was turning on anf off..prior to this...but that's not the turbo system...
We live miles in the woods..and the closest euro mechanic is 100 miles away :(...my husband dosent want me to drive it just in case I break it more...it starts fine and runs alright...just not at full power..what could be really wrong? Is it atill drivable? HELP! Pleeeease!

8pack
06-27-2011, 02:04 PM
Ok, Qualifier, I am not a mechanic but here is where i would start.....

The hissing noise is possibly a bad brake booster that is losing vacuum. Could be a line, which I sort of doubt as you would not hear it, but the brake booster you would hear....if that is the case, it COULD, and I don't know how all theses systems are connected, cause the ABS fault. In addition, a loss of vacuum would cause the car to run poorly and potentially with lower power. Again, not sure if that would set a turbo code....

Running Rich could also be indicative of loss of vacuum as the engine compensates.....

As long as the turbo is getting oil, there is not much damage you can do if you drive it and it is bad unless the turbine shattered or something horrific like that....

On the noises, the grinding noise could have been your ABS activiating when your booster lost pressure immediately after the hiss.....

I would start there..........

A bad ABS module on the other hand would not cause the loss of power, or hissing, but may cause the grinding noise....

howardc64
06-27-2011, 02:05 PM