PDA

View Full Version : Oil change

Seamus
12-18-2010, 02:36 PM
Hey guys,

My friend and I are gonna change the oil in the xc tomorrow, and this is the first time doing it by myself. I know that the filter comes with a new o-ring, but I read in the resource section to replace the gasket for the drain plug? Does this come with a new filter? I have no idea,

Thanks,
Seamus

stever417
12-18-2010, 03:26 PM
Seamus,
The filter doesn't come with a crush washer for the drain plug. I know they recomend putting on a new one each time, however I have been doing my own oil changes on our 2001 xc for 168k miles and have never had to change that washer and it has never leaked.

Good luck, Steve

travelkids
12-18-2010, 03:48 PM
It doesn't come with one. If you use the old one, you may have to fish it out of the oil bucket as it sometimes falls off when the oil drains. Remember to properly torque everything back to specs.

I have been doing it on my 02 for 8 years now and it is easy.

Have fun.

Aviator
12-18-2010, 04:21 PM
Usually, the parts dude at Volvo will toss in a new drain bolt gasket for you. ALWAYS replace the gasket. It's aluminum, and once it's been crushed it's done. Do it right, do it clean, do it once. If the parts dude doesn't toss one in for you, are you really gonna balk at the extra expenditure of about 50 cents?? It's cheap peace of mind.

Dave.

Astro14
12-18-2010, 05:44 PM
I am with Aviator Dave - replace the 50 cent crush washer.

I strongly recommend the use of synthetic oil given the turbocharger and the 7500 mile oil change interval. I am partial to a few brands, but the point is to use a good quality synthetic oil. They flow better, clean better, last longer. For winter, 5W30 is recommended, but there are a few brands (e.g. Mobil 1) that have a 0W30.

Same operating temperature viscosity as a 5W30, but better flow in the cold.

Best of both worlds.