PDA

View Full Version : I did something risky yesterday to my cylinders.

Allen
02-28-2010, 05:59 AM
So I was reading on another forum about how picky Volvos are about their spark plugs, and that factory plugs work best, and not using them can cause some serious mayhem.

I've been running NGK V-Powers for about six months, and though I haven't had any real issues, I've felt that the car wasn't running as well as it should.

So I bought a new set of plugs from the dealer (most expensive set of plugs I've ever bought), and got to work yesterday.

I'm gonna tell you guys about the strange things I encountered, and finally get to the point of this thread.

After I removed the turbo top tube, I noticed oil inside the tube at the turbo end, and there was oil in the turbo inlet, too. Not sludged oil, but fresh clean oil as if it had been circulating through there. Is this normal?

I wiped up all the oil I could reach, and moved on.

I removed the strut brace, too. I noticed that the top engine mount was loose as hell! The rubber insert was not rotten and falling apart, but it sure as heck didn't give a tight fit in the engine mount bracket. Is this rubber insert supposed to be tight as a drum, or loose as meat curtains?

Then I start pulling coil packs and plugs. Coils looked great, set them aside. Pulled plugs, plugs looked correct: light brown color and clean cathode.

I looked down into the spark plug holes and noticed some serious dirt build up in number 2. I saw dirt and sand laying around the circumference of the hole. I was like [sly].

So I extracted some of the debris with a magnetic pick-up tool. Yeah, some of the stuff stuck to the magnet. I got the rest out with a long screw driver and rag over the tip. I would've preferred to vacuum it out, but didn't have that capability.