PDA

View Full Version : New 2010 XC70 T6 - First Impressions

DrJazz
12-20-2009, 01:23 PM
I sold our lovely 2004 XC70 (Ash Gold, Chocolate Brown two-tone interior) on Monday, and picked up a new 2010 XC70 T6 (Electric Silver, Black interior) on Friday. I thought I would post a few initial impressions for anyone who might be interested. Note that these are MY PERSONAL OPINIONS and viewpoints. I am NOT a car expert by any means, and I expect many of my impressions will not agree with everyone.

(Some pics of the new car can be seen here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/9790407@N07/sets/72157623030868662/)

First, I thought I would detail what I miss about the 2004 (most of these points are VERY nit-picky, and are probably because I'm used to the 2004 having had it for 5 years - and being totally in love with it - while I've only had the 2010 for 3 days):

- Buttery-soft seats. The new 2010 seats are not uncomfortable by any stretch, but there was some kind of "old favourite armchair" feel about the 2004, y'know? Just really smooth and soft. The 2010 seats seem to be more firm, though with only 300kms on the car so far, they haven't had a chance to be broken in at all yet.

- Light-touch steering. Okay, maybe I'm a wuss, but the steering on the 2004 (which was speed-sensitive, just like my new 2010) seemed utterly effortless compared to the stiffer feel of the 2010. I've adjusted the steering sensitivity in the new car, and it seems a bit better - still not sure if it's as light-touch as the old car.

- Stereo sound quality. I had the premium sound system on the 2004, and now have "just" the high-performance system on the 2010. The sound on the 2004 sounded more clear and balanced to me, while the 2010 sounds over-bassed and a little boomy. I haven't played with the equalizer yet, however, so I expect I'll be able to adjust the sound more to my liking. On the other hand, my wife thinks the new car sounds better, so there you go. :)