PDA

View Full Version : Pitted headlight lenses

Ozzie
10-11-2009, 04:20 PM
MY 2005 XC70 headlight lenses are pitted from all the highway debris.

Can a glass polish be used buff out these pits out and clear up the headlight lenses?

I also want to use the same polish to eliminate a long scratch on the wind shield that was caused by the end of the wiper blade. [cussing]

TIA
Oz

Aviator
10-11-2009, 04:57 PM
Believe it or not, toothpaste is the weapon of choice in these cases; preferably the whitening type with some grit. Also, try Ceramabryte.....the stuff for cleaning flat-top ceramic stove tops. There is also a product in an aerosol can (can't remember the name) that you can buy that's good for the lenses, but I believe in trying simple remedies first.

Dave.

JRL
10-11-2009, 05:04 PM
Mothers makes a glass polish kit that's do be used with a cordless power drill.
I have no personal experience with it, but it may be worth checking out

weeble
10-11-2009, 05:17 PM
Check out this line of products. (http://www.autogeek.net/diglclsy.html) No first hand experience, but I know this line is well-regarded.

Pits are hard to correct, if it's possible at all. There's a very active detailing forum over at that link - pretty good source of info for things like this.

Also, I'm pretty sure your headlight covers are plastic and your windshield is glass. As you research techniques and products, keep that in mind.

goldxc70
10-13-2009, 08:05 AM
MY 2005 XC70 headlight lenses are pitted from all the highway debris.

Can a glass polish be used buff out these pits out and clear up the headlight lenses?

I also want to use the same polish to eliminate a long scratch on the wind shield that was caused by the end of the wiper blade. [cussing]

TIA
Oz

I think a glass polish will be too aggressive for the plastic headlight lens. There are a number of commercial products out there but like any finishing project, take it slowly and patiently.

duettitude
10-13-2009, 11:58 AM