PDA

View Full Version : Am I crazy?

slalomskier
02-26-2009, 09:21 AM
I have a feeling the answer is yes. I know the answer is yes. But i just need to ask.

I am 18, and started off driving my old '93 240 wagon with a 5 speed manual and 450,000 miles. It was by true love, till it died. I am now driving my dad's old '02 xc70 with 114,000 miles and its an automatic. I have always felt like I am a better driver with a manual, i speed less, and as someone with A.D.D, it just keeps me more alert, and i also feel safer. I also am a sailor, and tow boats all the time.

Has anyone ever done a transmission swap to make an xc70 a manual?

First off, i have seen people do this with suburbans, because all of the mountings for even the petals are already there, and its a pretty simple swap. My question is how similar is everything between the manual and the automatic. Could i get a 5 or 6 speed transmission anywhere? How involved would this be.

I have installed a hitch, do oil changes, and most of my own maintenance. Is there any chance i could be able to do this, or get some friends with some experience to help out.

Am I crazy?

Probably, but if it is possible, I would like some input. FYI, I may wait 'till my transmission dies to due this.

And does anybody have a manual? I live in Connecticut if anyone wants to help :)

ChazzyD
02-27-2009, 06:50 PM
You already know the best answer to this I suspect. Look for a nice rust-free '93 240 wagon with a manual tranny on Craigslist from the southern part of the USA (Atlanta, Chattanooga, etc). Drive down with a friend, pick it up and take it back to Conn. Turbocharge it from junkyard parts from a 740/940 when you get a little bored with it. ;) Nice 240s are going to waste every day in The South, come save one from the crusher. They don't seem to even know what they are wasting here.
Charles

Allen
02-27-2009, 07:44 PM
I agree. I wold love to find an old 242 GT again. Torque monster!

n00bkiller944
02-27-2009, 08:09 PM