PDA

View Full Version : 2004 XC70 CEL after adding fuel

mrshollysXC
08-04-2008, 06:14 PM
Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to the forum, but have spent the last several hours tonight online reading the great information here.

Here is a little about a problem that I am having as of today with my Cross Country.

My car has 52k miles on it and today after work, I stopped by a gas station to get some gas. I like to add fuel when the car goes to half a tank. Anyway, I stop, get gas, and it "almost" fills the car up. I pre-paid $25 thinking it would fill it up, but it didn't just quite.

Well, I get back in my car and I start it up, pull out of the parking lot, glance down to see how the gas hand looks, and bam...I see the Check Engine Light! Arggh! [cussing]

I almost fell over! Why? Well, because my husband I just bought this 1 owner car a week and 3 days ago! We have put 800 miles on it (took it on a weekend trip) with no problems. Had put gas in it before, with no problems!

Took it to a mechanic and they read the following codes:

P0600
P0571
P0504
P0863
U0073
P2402

Now, I'm officially freaking out! Looks like a lot of bad codes to me! We called the Volvo dealer and they just acted not really surprised and I made an apt. to take it in on Wednesday.

My husband and I did purchase an extended warranty when we bought the car...so I'm hoping repairs will be covered.

I was under the initial impression that maybe I had just not tightened the gas cap tightly enough. I stopped and checked that out though, even re-tightened it and re-started the car, but the stupid light still came back on.

Anyone know anything about these codes? I tried to look them up, but only one came back and actually told me anything.

My husband wanted to disconnect the battery, but I was afraid for him to do that. *LOL*

Any thoughts?

BillAileo
08-04-2008, 07:15 PM