PDA

View Full Version : What do you think about geartronic driving??

atbspinner
04-30-2008, 07:51 PM
I'm new to this type of transmission and I've been playing around with it for a few weeks but don't really find it very useful. Seems the shifting is much more harsh with it and I do not push the rpm's. I've tried to stay close to the auto shift pattern and it is okay at best. It just seems like it might not be the best thing for the longevity of the drivetrain. I had one incident where it was shifting from 1st to 2nd and there was an uncharacteristic thud from the transmission. I've never had anything close to a skip or slip with it in auto. The car has been serviced EVERY 5k with the dealer and ALL maintenance is documented (86k now). I just don't want to get into premature tranny issues if the geartronic could cause any. What do you guys think???

tgwillard
04-30-2008, 07:57 PM
I sometimes use the geartronic to downshift when coming to a stop down an incline. I imagine I am saving a bit on the brakes when I do this. Other than that I really don't know the advantage of using it. I often wonder if gas mileage would be any better if I took it out of drive and put it in fifth gear when cruising on the interstate. I must be careful not to reach for it while driving the wife's S80, which does not have it.

atbspinner
04-30-2008, 08:12 PM
The times I've been at highway speed (50+) I've noticed it's already in 5th when I switch it. I guess the downshifting will cause less brake dust and I might not have to clean the wheels every 2 days. :D

JRL
04-30-2008, 08:35 PM