View Poll Results: Do you do your own work on your car?

Voters
186. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, I'll tackle anything

119 63.98%
  • Yes, but only minor repairs.

61 32.80%
  • No

6 3.23%
Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Default Do you do your own work on your car?

I did a quick search and didn't find a similar thread, although I'm sure there has to be one. I'm just curious what percentage of people do their own work. It seems on this forum, I see a lot more "I had this installed..." etc, which implies that somebody else did the install work. While I'm not a great mechanic or anything, I'll try pretty much anything at least once. I'll be doing some minor work soon (endlinks, tranny mount...thanks billr for the Powerflex bushing suggestion, I'm giving that a shot).

So...simple question, do you work on your own car?

Yeah, I work on my own cars. I will dip lightly into the motor, for timing belts and valve lash and stuff like that, but not into the block for cranks and such. I change my oil, rotate my tires, do clutches, brakes, rear end gears, and change my own wheel bearings (6 so far on this 80K mile XC70). I do it to save money and to make sure it's done right. I work on my other cars, too, here are some links to the ZZ502 motor, Hydratech brake system, and TKO 5speed transmission I put in my Chevelle. Looking back, I actually think I enjoyed it.

http://img687.imageshack.us/img687/7274/donelarge.jpg

http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/9647/underside.jpg

There's no way I would ever do work so involved on the Volvo, I better not have to!
    Last edited by gibbons; 07-16-2010 at 05:59 PM.
    '04 XC70, Ice White, Taupe. Original owner (196K miles as of may21). 6 wheel bearings, broken ignition switch, broken turbo downtube flange, failed throttle body, many warped rotors, and a myriad of weird crap. Still my favorite car ever.

That is clean. Nice work.