Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default 2004 XC70 Rough Idle -help!

Hello -

I just bought a (very clean) 2004 XC70 with 75K on it.

The idle is pretty rough; but the rest of the ride is extremely smooth.

I have an extended warranty, (and the dealership are "diagnostic test" people - ugh) I can't get an answer and they seem to think this is a normal function of AWD.

I was hoping for some suggestions that I could ask them to look into?

Thank you kindly,
    Regina

It has NOTHING to do with the AWD - Im no expert, but would be inclined towards MAF, ETM etc - the dealership should be able to pull the DTCs and diagnose from there.

hi martinperry,

I'm very nervous and wondering if I've made a terrible mistake (and as such, should return the car for refund today at latest.) I'll look up the initials you've written and try and understand what that all means.

AWD = All wheel drive
    MAF = Mass air flow meter
    ETM = Electronic throttle module
    DTC = Diagnostic trouble code
    Sorry for all the TLAs (three letter acronysms!!!)
    I wouldnt panic - a decent dealer should be able to sort this easily, and the XC is a great car.

Thanks again.

I'm at the dealership, and they said the same things you did... so, hopefully,
    I will be able to keep this car! I really, really love it... it reminds me (in handling) of my old stickshift 245 (rip)

it reminds me (in handling) of my old stickshift 245 (rip)
    Better get your steering and suspension checked while you're in there, then!!!

Dave.
    Our Most Probable Fate Is Death !!!

Default rough idle

i have a 2002 v70xc w/167k miles...i have had vibration and rough idle issues recently. there are a number of things that could be wrong...first off has your car thrown a check engine light and diagnostic codes? if so that would be a place to start. mine hasn't through any codes...issues i have found poking around myself have been:

1. all five ignitiion coils cracked...replaced them